Music News News

Following the announcement that M.I.A. will be curating this year’s Meltdown festival, today the musician has revealed the first line-up drop.

Taking place at Southbank Centre for ten days from 9th June, the diverse line-up boasts many emerging and innovative artists.

It all kicks off with a “a unique show created specially for Meltdown” by Mercury Prize-winning Young Fathers, who are joined on the bill by synth maestros Crystal Castles, London rapper Afrikan Boy, Sweden’s Yung Lean, queer musicians JD Samson and Mykki Blanco and a double-bill night featuring Brooklyn rapper Young M.A. and Vancouver’s Tommy Genesis. M.I.A. herself will close the festival with a headline show at Royal Festival Hall on 18th June.

Having publicly reached out to Radiohead via Twitter asking if the band would play at her Meltdown, sadly the Oxford band’s name is not featured. But fingers crossed still.

“For me this Meltdown will be about putting on a musical week that shows different types of music which have inspired each other to exist,” M.I.A. said in a statement. “Genres that support other genres, redefining the concept of a melting pot. Respect the history, don’t live in it. I plan to bring together music’s best forward thinkers who have contributed to all our lives. When music acts as inspiration, it’s boundary-less.”

See the full line-up and ticket information here.
Tickets will be on sale to members on 4th April and to general public on 6th April at 10 a.m.